## 2015 UTEP IDR SYMPOSIUM AGENDA

## Monday, March 23<sup>rd</sup>

Tomás Rivera Conference Center (Union East, room 308E) 4:00 - 6:00pm: Opening Reception and Poster Session

5:45 - 6:00pm: Closing Remarks

Dr. Roberto Osegueda, VP for Research

Tuesday, March 24th

Tomás Rivera Conference Center (Union East, room 308E)

8:00 - 8:30am: Registration and Continental Breakfast

8:30 - 8:40am: Welcome

Dr. Diana Natalicio, President

8:40 - 10:00am: Flash Presentations by UTEP Center representatives

8:40 Center for Law & Human Behavior - Dr. Mike Smith

8:48 Center for Transportation Infrastructure Systems – Dr. Imad Abdallah 8:56 Center for Environmental Resource Management – Dr. Bill Hargrove

9:04 Cyber-ShARE Center of Excellence - Dr. Deana Pennington

9:12 Center for Inland Desalination Systems - Malynda Cappelle, Ph.D. candidate

9:20 Center for the Advancement of Space Safety and Mission Assurance Research – Darren Cone, Ph.D. candidate

9:28 National Center for Border Security & Immigration (NCBSI) - Vic Manjarrez, M.A.

9:34 Hunt Institute for Global Competitiveness – Patrick Schaefer, J.D. 9:42 Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning – Dr. Larry Lesser

9:50 Regional Geospatial Service Center - Dr. Raed Aldouri

10:00 - 10:30am: Table Discussions with UTEP Center representatives

10:30 - 10:45pm: Break

10:45 - 12:25pm: Concurrent Sessions

	University Suite	Templeton Suite
10:45am – 11:15am	IDR 101 Faculty Panel: Deana Pennington (Geology, Cyber-ShARE) Christina Sobin (Interdisciplinary Health Sciences PhD Program, Public Health Sciences	Engaging non-academic partners Faculty Panel: Russ Chianelli (Materials Research & Technology Institute, Chemistry) Ivonne Santiago (Civil Engineering, PI of currently funded IDR Enhancement Program team)
11:20am – 11:50am	IDRE Student Goals Graduate Student Panel: Isaac Martinez (Teaching, Learning & Culture) Tara Perkins (Psychology) Mireya Ramos (Biology) Oscar Veliz (Computer Science)	Art in Interdisciplinary Projects Faculty/Staff Panel: Kerry Doyle (Stanlee and Gerald Rubin Center for the Visual Arts) Chris Reyman (Music)
11:55am – 12:25pm	IDRE Programs Faculty Panel: Anupama Kaul (Metallurgical & Materials Engineering; Electrical & Computer Engineering (joint), Office of the Dean) Christina Sobin (Interdisciplinary Health Sciences PhD Program, Public Health Sciences) Craig Tweedie (Biology, Environmental Science & Engineering Program, Cyber-ShARE)	Developing Communities of Practice Faculty/Staff Panel: Ann Gates (Computer Science, Cyber-ShARE & UTEP NSF I3 Grant) Andrea Tirres (ORSP & UTEP NSF I3 Grant)

12:30 - 1:45pm: Keynote Lunch Address with Q&A – Individual and Institutional Strategies for Enabling Interdisciplinary Research

Dr. Maura Borrego, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Curriculum & Instruction

University of Texas at Austin

1:45pm: Closing remarks